The Four Dioceses

The Episcopal Church in Jerusalem and the Middle East includes Jerusalem, Iran, Egypt, Cyprus, and the Gulf.

The Jerusalem bishopric was founded in 1841 and became an archbishopric in 1957. Reorganization in January 1976 ended the archbishopric and combined the Diocese of Jordan, Lebanon, and Syria with the Jerusalem bishopric after a nineteen-year separation. Around the same time, the new Diocese of Cyprus and the Gulf was formed and the Diocese of Egypt was revived. The Cathedral Church of St George the Martyr in Jerusalem is known for its ministry to pilgrims. St George's College, Jerusalem, is in partnership with the Anglican Communion. (

Map of the Anglican Province of Jerusalem and the Middle East                                                                                                       Click here to Enlarge Map

Click here for Anglican Communion website page on The Episcopal Church in Jerusalem and the Middle East